Skincare From Your Kitchen: HONEY

There’s nothing more fun than using items you have in your kitchen to do double duty as skincare products! Not only is it way more cost effective but also about as natural as you can get!

Honey

This is probably my favorite kitchen to skincare item. In my opinion raw organic honey is the best because it isn’t as processed and retains more nutrients (good if you’re going to eat it as well). Raw manuka honey is said to have the most healing and antibacterial/antiseptic properties (many studies suggest it can even help MRSA) . Manuka honey is from New Zealand and I’ve found that it’s definitely worth the hype–just the taste alone warrants the somewhat hefty price tag. Manuka honey is rated using a UMF (acronym for unique manuka factor) number. The higher the UMF number, the more expensive it will be (due to it containing higher levels of healing properties) . If you want more info about UMF ratings check out this link: http://manukahoney.com/resources/umf.html.

Raw organic manuka honey can be found at most health food stores or online. I order mine online from Luckyvitamin.com as it is a bit cheaper.

Cleanser- I use a mini spatula (the kind they have at makeup counters for testers–I buy a huge pack at Sally’s Beauty Supply) and scoop a big dollop of honey onto  my hands and slather it all over my face, massage gently into my skin with my finger tips for a few minutes, then rinse with warm water. I half expected my face to feel a bit sticky after using this the first time, but the honey actually rinses off completely clean with just water.

Mask- Honey makes for a very soothing mask (albeit slightly messy). Add oatmeal for even more skin pampering. Leave on for at least 15 minutes and make sure you’re wearing an outfit that you don’t mind getting honey on because your body heat will make it a little drippy!

Spot treatment- the antibacterial properties inherent in honey are said to help heal acne and cuts/wounds. I mix a teaspoon of honey with 1/2 a teaspoon of cinnamon for an acne spot treatment and leave it on for a couple of hours. If you want to leave it on over night you will probably want to cover it with a band aide (otherwise you will undoubtedly wake up to a very sticky mess). I also love putting this on stubborn and irritating blemishes that I have an urge to poke/prod (basically spread germs ) because when it’s covered in sticky honey I simply can’t touch it!

Body scrub- I just use a small recycled jam jar, fill it up about 2/3 of the way with honey and the rest with brown sugar, shake it up and/or stir it. It makes for a very luxurious body scrub, great to remove any dry patches on your skin (the honey moisturizes while the sugar exfoliates). Sometimes I use this on my face too, but it’s probably a bit harsh for most.

Lip Scrub- same recipe above but on a much smaller scale obviously. I just use my fingers and gently scrub all of the flakies off my lips. This is great to do before applying lipstick, it leaves you with a nice smooth canvas to paint your lips!

Eat- Yes, the most obvious use for honey is to eat it and enjoy the delightful sweetness as it melts in your mouth, yum! I use honey in place of sugar to sweeten baked goods, in my morning oatmeal, in tea, on toast (honey and banana sandwiches are delicious by the way), etc. It’s also great for soothing and temporarily coating sore throats, mix it with a bit of cinnamon if it to sweet to eat straight. I’ve also been told that eating local honey can help with seasonal allergies (the theory is that you will be ingesting small doses of local pollen, therefore building up an immunity to them–sort of like a vaccine).

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Skincare From Your Kitchen: HONEY

  1. Alexis

    Awesome post-reminds me of something I would read in a health and beauty magazine. Well written and informative!

  2. Heather

    Excellent items from you, man. I have take into account your stuff
    previous to and you are simply too wonderful. I really like what you have got here,
    really like what you are stating and the way in which through which
    you are saying it. You’re making it enjoyable and you continue to care for
    to stay it wise. I cant wait to learn far more from you.
    That is really a wonderful site.

Leave a Reply

